Crumbs of pleasure: How to carry on after an unspeakable loss #grief

Tips on how to survive a sudden, life-altering loss.IMG_0376 Sleep, sing, love. go outside and ban perfection.

More from the CommonHealth blog.

In 2014 I became a widow, and my two young children lost their father. Needless to say our perspective and priorities have shifted radically.

Last year at this time, my New Year’s resolutions revolved around carbs, and eating fewer of them. This year, carbs are the least of my worries. My resolutions for 2015 are all about trying to let go of any notion of perfection and seek what my mother calls “crumbs of pleasure” — connection, peace and actual joy on the heels of a life-altering tragedy that could easily have pushed me into bed (with lots of comforting carbs) for a long time.

Leave a Reply

